88 file nomination papers for municipal elections

Dharamshala, Dec 27 (Agency)

A otal of 88 candidates filed their nomination papers on Saturday in hope of getting elected to various municipal bodies of Kangra district. The elections are scheduled to be held on January 10, 2021. Today was the second day of nomination for the Municipal Elections, on the first day of nomination ie on Thursday 35 candidates had filed their nomination papers. Giving details regarding the filing of nomination papers District Election Officer and Deputy Commissioner, Kangra Rakesh Kumar Prajapati informed UNI that 18 candidates filed their nomination in the Baijnath-Paprola Nagar Panchayat, three candidates filed nomination papers for Nurpur Municipal Council where as three candidates filed nomination for Municipal council Kangra civic elections today.

He said that the three candidates who filed nominations for the election of MC Kangra included Sonika Chaudhary from ward number-3, Shama from ward number-4 and Saurabh from ward number-5. Deputy Commissioner said that fifteen nominations were filed for the Municipal Council of Dehra whereas ten candidates filed their nomination papers in the Municipal Council, Jwalamukhi. He said that eight nominations were filed today for Nagar Panchayat, Shahpur which included four women candidates. Rakesh Prajapati said that on Saturday thirteen candidates filled their nomination papers for Municipal Council Nagrota Bagwan which included nine women candidates from different wards.

He said that eighteen candidates filled their nomination papers for the election of Nagar Panchayat Jawali which included nine women candidates who filed their nomination papers from different wards of Jawali.