MEA holds seminar on seven decades of Constitution of India

New Delhi, Mar 28 (Representative) The Ministry of External Affairs on Tuesday held a Seminar on “Seven Decades of the Constitution of India” that provided an insight into the Indian Constitution which is amongst the world’s longest and has guided India’s nation building process for over seven decades. The seminar was organised on the occasion of Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav (75 years of Independence of India). It was held in coordination with the Parliamentary Research & Training Institute for Democracies (PRIDE) in the PRIDE Main Lecture Hall, Parliament Library Building. It was also organised in the context of India’s Presidency of the Asian African Legal Consultative Organisation (AALCO).

Today’s seminar covered the following themes: (i) Seven decades of the Indian Constitution; (ii) Indian Constitution and Human Rights (iii) Indian Constitution and Internationalism, an official statement said. Minister of State for External Affairs Meenakshi Lekhi inaugurated the Seminar, while Uma Sekhar, AS (L&T) welcomed and introduced the speakers. Justice Ranjan Gogoi, Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha) and former Chief Justice of India; Justice Arun Mishra, Chairperson of National Human Rights Commission and former Supreme Court Judge; and Justice Adarsh Kumar Goel, Chairperson of National Green Tribunal and former Supreme Court judge were the distinguished speakers at the Seminar.

AALCO is an inter-governmental organization, headquartered in New Delhi, having 47 member states from Asia and Africa. It serves as an advisory body to member states on matters on international law. Over the years AALCO has been able to forge close links with the International Court of Justice (ICJ) and International Law Commission (ILC). To have an interactive experience on the freedom struggle of India and making of its Constitution, as a part of the seminar, a visit to Parliament of India was arranged for the participants. In a first, over 200 diplomats attending the Seminar also toured the Parliament of India, it said.