Six Indian players in ICC’s team of the tournament

Dubai, Nov 20 (FN Agency) India may have lost the Cricket World Cup final to Australia, but six of their players feature in the team of the tournament selected by the International Cricket Council. In contrast, only two players of the Cup winning Australian team have found a place in the 12-man squad announced by the ICC on Monday. Two players from South Africa, and one each from Sri Lanka and New Zealand have been named in the side. All-rounder Glenn Maxwell and spinner Adam Zampa are included after helping Australia to a record-extending sixth triumph.KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja and Jasprit Bumrah are among the Indian stars selected alongside leading run scorers Kohli and Sharma, as well as leading wicket-taker Mohammed Shami.

The selection panel consisted of Ian Bishop, Kass Naidoo, Shane Watson (Commentators), Wasim Khan (ICC General Manager, Cricket) and Sunil Vaidya (Journalist, Ahmedabad Mirror), an ICC media release said.The team of the ICC Men’s World Cup 2023 (in batting order) is:1. Quinton de Kock (wk) (South Africa) – 594 runs at 59.402. Rohit Sharma (c) (India) – 597 runs at 54.273. Virat Kohli (India) – 765 runs at 95.624. Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand) – 552 runs at 695. KL Rahul (India) – 452 runs at 75.336. Glenn Maxwell (Australia) – 400 runs at 66.66 and six wickets at 557. Ravindra Jadeja (India) – 120 runs at 40 and 16 wickets at 24.878. Jasprit Bumrah (India) – 20 wickets at 18.659. Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka) – 21 wickets at 2510. Adam Zampa (Australia) – 23 wickets at 22.3911. Mohammed Shami (India) – 24 wickets at 10.7012th player: Gerald Coetzee (South Africa) – 20 wickets at 19.80.