Delhi Premier League kicks off on July 15

New Delhi, July 12 (Agency) The first ever Delhi Premier League (DPL) football tournament will commence at the Ambedkar Stadium on Friday. The league will be played in a double round robin format with all 11 teams playing 20 matches each. A total of 110 matches will be played over the duration of more than 2 months. All the matches in the league are set to be held at two venues – Ambedkar Stadium and Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium.

The clubs that are part of the League are: Delhi FC, Hindustan FC, Royal Rangers FC, Friends United FC, Garhwal FC, Tarun Sangha FC, Rangers SC, Sudeva Delhi FC, Uttarakhand FC, Indian Air Force and Vatika FC. Football Delhi President Shaji Prabhakaran said: “Football Delhi in its endeavor to improve the competitive structure of football in Delhi is launching the Premier League and we are increasing the number of matches for each team from 10 to 20 in the top tier league is testimony to our resolve to provide better competitive environment for players in our system.” The opening match will be played between Hindustan FC and Vatika FC.