Stage sets for sixth phase

New Delhi, May 24 (Agency) Stage is set for the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections in which as many as 58 Lok Sabha seats, seats, including all seven constituencies of Delhi will go to the poll on May 25. In this phase, the voting will occur in 6 states and two Union territories. All the 7 seats in Delhi and all the 10 seats in Haryana will participate in this phase.The states and union territories voting in Phase 6 of the Lok Sabha elections include Bihar (8 seats), Haryana (all 10 seats), Jammu and Kashmir (one seat), Jharkhand (4 seats), Delhi (all 7 seats), Odisha (6 seats), Uttar Pradesh (14 seats) and West Bengal (8 seats).According to the Elections Commission, as many as 889 candidates are in the fray.The political fate of prominent leaders including senior BJP leaders Dharmendra Pradhan, Maneka Gandhi, Manohar Lal Khattar, Sambit Patra, Bansuri Swaraj and Manoj Tiwari, and Congress leaders Deepender Singh Hooda, Kumari Selja, Raj Babbar and Kanhaiya Kumar, as well as Samajwadi Party leader Dharmendra Yadav and PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti, will be decided in this phase.In the National capital, a total of 162 candidates are in the fray.

Manoj Tiwari, and Bansuri Swaraj of BJP, Somnath Bharti and Kuldeep Kumar of Aam Aadmi Party, and Kanhaiya Kumar and JP Agarwal of Congress are the prominent names who are trying their luck this time. According to the Election Commission, a total of one crore 52 lakh people are eligible to exercise their franchise out of which around 82 lakh are male and 70 lakh are female voters. A total of 13 thousand 637 polling stations have been established by the poll body to conduct smooth voting.In this phase, polling will also be conducted in Jammu & Kashmir’s Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha constituency. Last month, the Election Commission of India (ECI) revised the polling date in the Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha seat from May 7 to May 25 due to logistical, communication, and natural barriers related to connectivity. The Lok Sabha Elections 2024 are being held in seven phases. The first five phases were held on April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13, and May 20. The seventh phase will take place on June 1. The results will be declared on June 4. Forty-two Assembly constituencies in Odisha are also going for polls on Saturday, in the third phase of Assembly elections being held in the state simultaneously with the Lok Sabha elections.