Eight DMs, 12 SPs transferred in five states ahead of LS polls

New Delhi, Apr 3 (FN Agency) Ahead of Lok Sabha elections, eight district magistrates and 12 superintendents of police across Assam, Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha, and Andhra Pradesh have been transferred on Tuesday. The decision was taken as part of the regular review by the Election Commission during a meeting chaired by Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar along with Election Commissioners Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu, the poll body said in a statement.

Under the directive, all the transferred officials have been asked to hand over the charge to their immediate junior officer, and these officers will not be assigned any election duty till the completion of the General Elections 2024. The respective state governments have been directed to send a panel of names of IAS and IPS officers to the Commission, it said.