AAP names 4 candidates from Delhi, 1 from Haryana

New Delhi, Feb 27 (Representative) The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Tuesday announced candidates for four Lok Sabha seats in Delhi and one in Haryana. The party fielded Somnath Bharti, an MLA from Malviya Nagar, for the New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency, Sahi Ram for the South Delhi Lok Sabha seat, Mahabal Mishra for West Delhi, and Kondli MLA Kuldeep Kumar for East Delhi. Former Rajya Sabha MP Sushil Gupta was declared as the candidate for Haryana’s Kurukshetra for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. The AAP and Congress have agreed to a 4:3 seat-sharing arrangement in Delhi. In Delhi, out of seven seats, Congress will contest from three seats that are Chandni Chowk, North East Delhi, and West Delhi, while AAP will contest from the remaining four seats—New Delhi, South Delhi, and East Delhi. In Haryana, out of 10 seats, Congress will contest from nine seats and AAP will fight for one seat in Kurukshetra. AAP leader Sandeep Pathak released the list of Lok Sabha candidates fielded from Delhi and Haryana after the party’s Political Affairs Committee meeting chaired by Delhi Chief Minister and the party’s national convener Arvind Kejriwal.

Addressing the media jointly with AAP leaders Gopal Rai and Atishi, Pathak said, “There will be a total of 23 (Lok Sabha) candidates from AAP, of which five have already been announced. Today, we are announcing five more candidates, four from Delhi and one from Haryana.” “Somnath Bharti will be the candidate from New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency, Sahi Ram will be candidate from South Delhi Lok Sabha seat, Mahabal Mishra from West Delhi and Kuldeep Kumar from East Delhi. Along with this, Sushil Gupta will be the candidate from Haryana’s Kurukshetra,” he said. Meanwhile, the AAP leader Gopal Rai said, “AAP has made a historic decision at PAC today. It fielded Kuldeep Kumar, who belongs to SC, from the General Seat East Delhi.“ Referring to Kuldeep Kumar’s nomination from East Delhi, Atishi said, “Aam Aadmi Party is the only party trying to end caste-based politics. “The AAP had previously announced three candidates for Assam and two for Gujarat.