4798 candidates filed 5716 sets of nominations; 145 highest candidates filed nominations from CMs constituency Gajwel

Hyderabad, Nov 13 (Bureau) A total of 4798 candidates have filed 5716 sets of nominations for November 30 elections to 119 assembly constituencies in Telangana and majority of the candidates are independents. Nearly half of them filed their papers in all 119 Assembly constituencies on Friday, which was the last day for filing of nominations. Amid high drama and confusion due to last-minute changes in candidates, a large number of nominations were filed across the state on the last day of filing of nomination on Friday. Of the total nominations, the highest number of 145 candidates filed their nominations from Gajwel where BRS Chief and Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao (KCR) is seeking re-election for a third time while the lowest number of 13 candidates filed their nominations from Narayanpet assembly segment. This time, KCR is also contesting from Kamareddy assembly segment, where 92 candidates have filed their nominations. Apart from Kamareddy against KCR, Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC) President A Revanth Reddy filed his nomination from Kodangal.On the last day, BJP announced a list of 14 more candidates including changes on a few seats.

BRS is contesting all 119 seats on its own while AIMIM is contesting nine seats and backing BRS in the remaining seats. Congress has left one seat for its ally CPI while the BJP is contesting 111 seats and has left remaining seats for its ally Jana Sena party. According to Chief Electoral Officer Vikas Raj, 2,327 candidates filed 2829 sets of nominations on the last day of filing nominations on Friday. Scrutiny of nominations will be taken up on November 13 while the last day for withdrawal of nominations is November 15, he said. After completion of the electoral roll process, electoral roll has been finalized in all 119 assembly constituencies in the state at 3,26,18,205 out of which 1,62,98,418 are males, 1,63,01,705 are females and 2,676 belong to third gender, said Vikas Raj. There is a net increase of 8.75 per cent in the number of electors since January 2023, he said there is a remarkable achievement in the enrolment of record number of 18–19-year young voters from January 6 onwards, he said. As a result, the electoral rolls have 9,99,667 new voters in the 18-19 age cohort. This constitutes 3.06 percent of the electoral roll, he added.