Star Sports to broadcast 5th season of TNPL

New Delhi, Jul 17 (Agency) The fifth season of the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL), which gets underway from July 19 and run till August 15, will be broadcast on Star Sports 1 Tamil and Star Sports 2 SD & HD and Disney+ Hotstar VIP. Eight teams – Chepauk Super Gillies, Dindigul Dragons, LYCA Kovai Kings, Salem Spartans, Idream Tiruppur Tamizhans, Ruby Trichy Warriors, Nellai Royal Kings, and Siechem Madurai Panthers will be vying for top honours. The tournament, comprising of 32 matches, will be held only at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chepauk and will kickstart with Lyca Kovai Kings squaring off with Salem Spartans.

The commentary panel for the fifth season of TNPL will consist of familiar names such as Pradeep Muthu, Abhinav Mukund, L Balaji, S Ramesh, Naanee (KV Sathyanarayanan), Suhail Chandok, Padamjit Sehrawat and Nikhil Chopra. Big names like Ravichandran Ashwin and Washington Sundar are scheduled to miss it due to national commitments. However, the likes of Sandeep Warrier, mystery spinner Varun Chakravarthy and left-arm spinner Sai Kishore will take part in the tournament after completing their national duties.