Congress appoints observers for three NE states

New Delhi, Dec 26 (Agency) The Congress on Monday appointed a senior observer and observers for the upcoming Assembly elections in Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura. According to a communique issued by the Congress general secretary KC Venugopal, the party appointed Mukul Wasnik as the senior observer of the three Northeastern states.

The Congress appointed Benny Behnan and JD Seelam as the observer of Meghalaya; Francisco Sardhina and K Jayakumar for Nagaland; and Abdul Khaleque and Arvinder Singh Lovely for Tripura, as per the statement. Assembly elections in these states are likely to be held early next year.